nike scarpe outlet
Smokey Robinson | Features




Retrospective Ranges From "Shop Around", "The Tears Of A Clown" and "I Second That Emotion" to "One Heartbeat", "Cruisin'" and "Just To See Her Again" plus new songs "My World" and "Fallin'"

For the first time in the phenomenal career of William "Smokey" Robinson, all nine of his Top 10 pop hits both with The Miracles and solo have been collected on one CD. Bringing together for the first time every era of Smokey's recording legacy, from the '60s to today, My World: Definitive Collection (Motown/UMe), released May 3, 2005, celebrates some of the most romantic pop songs of our time and one of the most beloved and acclaimed artists in music.

But Smokey's world has never been just about the past. In addition to the disc's 19 timeless classics, each digitally remastered, My World: Definitive Collection features two songs recorded in 2005: "My World" and "Fallin'." The new tracks were co-penned by Smokey and produced by him with legendary writer-producer Mickey Stevenson (Marvin Gaye, Righteous Brothers, Temptations, Funk Brothers, etc.). Smokey also co-produced the compilation, which includes a 24-page booklet highlighted by numerous photographs and an essay.

The earliest track on My World: Definitive Collection is 1961's "Shop Around" from The Miracles of Smokey, Warren "Pete" Moore, Ronnie White, Emerson "Sonny" Rogers, Bobby Rogers and Claudette (Rogers) Robinson. The #1 R&B/#2 pop hit was a major breakthrough not only for the group but for producer and co-writer Berry Gordy and his fledgling Motown label.

An impressive strong of '60s hits followed, the vast majority written and/or produced by Smokey, establishing him as one of contemporary music's most prolific and successful songwriters and producers as well as artists: "You've Really Got A Hold On Me" (#1 R&B/#8 pop), Holland-Dozier-Holland's "Mickey's Monkey" (#3 R&B/#8 pop), "I Second That Emotion" (#1 R&B/#4 pop), "Going To A Go-Go" (#2 R&B/#11 pop), "The Tracks Of My Tears" (#2 R&B/#16 pop), "Yester Love" (#9 R&B/#31 pop), "Ooo Baby Baby" (#4 R&B/#16 pop), "More Love" (#5 R&B/#23 pop) and "The Tears Of A Clown" (#1 R&B/#1 pop).

In 1972, Smokey exited the Miracles to launch his solo career and the following year "Baby Come Close" (#7 R&B/#27 pop) served as an indicator of things to come by revealing a far more intimate side. He helped define the Quiet Storm genre in the '70s with his 1975 R&B Top 30 hit "Quiet Storm." The period also brought "Cruisin'" (#4 R&B/#4 pop) and "Baby That's Backatcha" (#1 R&B/#26 pop).

In the '80s, he scored with "Let Me Be The Clock" (#4 R&B/#31 pop), "Being With You" (#1 R&B/#2 pop/#4 Adult Contemporary), "I've Made Love To You A Thousand Times" (#8 R&B) and, in 1987, the same year Smokey Robinson & The Miracles were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, "Just To See Her Again" (#2 R&B/#8 pop/#1 AC) and the Grammy-winning "One Heartbeat" (#3 R&B/#10 pop/#2 AC).

My World: Definitive Collection is a reminder that it is near impossible to imagine our musical world without Smokey Robinson.

Smokey Robinson - My World: Definitive Collection
01. My World
02. Fallin'
03. Cruisin'
04. Just to See Her Again
05. The Tears of a Clown
06. You've Really Got a Hold On Me
07. Going to a Go-Go
08. Mickey's Monkey
09. Shop Around
10. The Tracks of My Tears
11. Being With You
12. Baby That's Backatcha
13. I Second That Emotion
14. More Love
15. Yester Love
16. Ooo Baby Baby
17. Baby Come Close
18. I've Made Love to You a Thousand Times
19. Quiet Storm [Single Version]
20. Let Me Be the Clock
21. One Heartbeat
Buy My World: Definitive Collection CD click here