nike scarpe outlet
K'Jon | Features

SaveOurSoul fresh pick



K'JonMusic is the universal language and Detroit native K'Jon speaks it well. A masterful, singer, songwriter and producer, K'Jon has a broad appeal to audiences in all demographics. His music is soulful enough for R&B lovers, but smooth enough for adult contemporary, sophisticated enough for the grown and sexy, but edgy enough for younger listeners. K'Jon writes and sings about relationships and everyday topics: From making up…to breaking up…to hooking up, listeners are amazed at how his catchy hooks and phrases command their attention and demand a permanent place on their favorite play list.

He began singing and writing at the age of eight. Ever since he can remember, K'Jon was always entertaining family or singing at talent shows and musical functions. After writing and cutting demos for other established artist, K'Jon released, co-produced and performed "My Shorty". The single was well received in Detroit, however, K’Jon craved for growth and national exposure. Soon after, K'Jon spent time in New York and Atlanta working with other aspiring artists, writing and producing. He soon landed on the 2Fast 2Furious Soundtrack/Movie with the song entitled "Miami", which is also featured in the movie. "Miami" received great reviews from music critics and consistently garnered attention from various news/internet sources.

After writing and interning as A&R for Ebony Son/DTP, K'Jon decided to go to the streets with his creativity. The club banger "Yes Sir" caught the attention of several Detroit DJs and received moderate spins on FM 98 and 105.9 FM, labeling the song a favorite summer hit for the city. Also, from Japan to war stricken Iraq, positive feedback and interest have been documented and publicized as indicated on his artist MySpace page:

In the spring of 2006, K'Jon partnered up with Chopper City Records in a non-exclusive situation to give Detroiters and R&B lovers world wide a preview of good things to come; via the internet. The highly anticipated album entitled "This Is Me" was released August 29, 2006 as part of an independent release featuring the soulful flare that Detroit has been missing and was once famous for.

K'JonSoon after, K’Jon obtained a deal with Universal Republic Records, and his full length major label debut “I Get Around” was released August 4, 2009, debuting at #1 on the R&B album charts and later making Billboards Top 50 R&B/Hip Hop Album of 2009! The album was so well received by audiences nationwide that K’Jon was nominated for the Best New Artist category at the 2010 NAACP Image Awards. His #1 hit single “On the Ocean” was the spark that ignited his career and notoriety to new heights. “I knew I could sell that song to an established artist, but a friend told me if I sold that song, I’d regret it for the rest of my career.” recalls K’Jon. Indeed that friend was right! “On the Ocean” climbed to #1 on the Urban AC charts for 6 weeks and according to Billboards year end issue, the single was the #2 Hot Adult R&B song of 2009! In addition, K’Jon set the record for the longest run on Billboards Hot R&B/Hip Hop Song with “On the Ocean”, surpassing platinum selling artists Mary J Blige’s single “Be Without You” which logged at 75 weeks! “On the Ocean” is an inspirational song about HOPE. It is the soundtrack to his journey and it encompasses a message that he incessantly spreads to anyone pursuing their destiny: Never give up on your dreams!
Outside from K’Jon’s full length albums, he is also making strides on the mix tape scenes. In 2005, K’Jon released his first mix tape entitled “Yessir”. This mix tape became a favorite in his hometown of Detroit and was regularly featured on local radio stations. After the release of his major first full length album in 2007, K’Jon released his second mix tape “Makings of a Hoodlum” which was unique because it featured talented female artists from Detroit. In February 2010, following the release of K’Jon’s major debut “I Get Around”, he released his latest mix tape “K’Jon Presents: Nick Speed and the Detroit Connect” which features a combination of hip hop artists and singers. K’Jon’s strategy of releasing mix tapes in between albums not only allows him to showcase local unsigned talent within his community, it’s also the appetizer before he serves up the next album that his fans crave.

K’Jon is a true testament to the phrase “Never give up on your dreams!” He is humbled by his successes and regularly participates in community activities such as Career Day and Jeans for Teens. In addition to working on his next album, K’Jon is also in the works of building his own foundation in the near future.

As you see, his enthusiasm for music drives him, his passion for love songs is inspiring, and his appreciation for the streets reminds him. "It's about creating from within, pulling from experiences and translating what goes on around us".

I Get Around
K'Jon - I Get Around Track Listing:
01. Intro
02. I Get Around
03. Fa Sho
04. Fly Away featuring Quest M.C.O.D.Y
05. This Time
06. On The Ocean Interlude
07. On The Ocean
08. Summer Rain
09. After The Club
10. I Know U See It
11. Doin It Big
12. What's Really Good featuring Lady Te
13. On Everything featuring Seven The General
14. I'll Never Forget
15. Vanity
Good Morning

K'Jon The Official Site